Skip to content

Life gets in the way

July 18, 2010

When I started this blog, I had visions (delusions?) of daily postings which would spread my pearls of wisdom far and wide. Well, as you can plainly see, that vision has yet to come to pass. Life sometimes just gets in the way of our best intentions and before you know it, a year has passed.

I’ve been so inspired lately while listening to the Paperclipping Roundtable podcasts. The message that comes across in every episode is to  Tell. Your. Stories.  Your not beaten over the head with it – it just seeps into your soul due to the passion and eloquence of these people. It’s a message that I don’t want to ignore any longer (I mean, really, who’s getting any younger these days?)

I’ve decided that I no longer have to create elaborate, double-page spreads with 10 photos and 3 paragraphs of flowery journaling every time I sit down to document an event. “Keep It Simple Stupid” is my new mantra! As a result, I’ve added almost a dozen pages to my albums in the past couple of weeks which means the stories are getting told.

I’ve created a family photo site on Shutterfly and uploaded 3 years worth of photos that nobody but me had seen until now because they were hiding on my computer. It’s also easy to add journaling to each “album” on the site which means the stories are getting told.

I keep copies of all of my latest photos on a thumb drive attached to my key chain now so that when I visit family and friends, I can just plug it in their computers and, voila, instant slideshow. Which means the stories are getting told.

ANY blogging I do is going to be better than nothing. Even if I only tell one story a year…it means that the stories are getting told. And as Stacy Julian has said on multiple episodes of the podcast, “it all counts”.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 3:59 pm

    Love it! I’m so excited to read that you’re actually doing it. Ten new layouts? Awesome!

    Congrats for telling all those stories! Thank you for loving the show and blogging about it! 🙂

    • Patricia Rogers permalink*
      July 19, 2010 5:17 pm

      Thanks, Noell! I wasn’t expecting anyone to ever read my blog so I was very surprised to get your comment. (I had to drag out my WordPress for Dummies book to realize that putting a link to your site made you aware of my post.) Since I’ve never really been a “fan mail” kind of person, it’s cool that at least you all now know how much I love the show and how it’s impacted my life.
      Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

