Skip to content

Blast from the past

July 19, 2010

I heard from an old boyfriend today – and I mean, like, 30 years ago old! (Facebook is amazing, isn’t it?) Turns out he’s been living right here in Beaufort for this entire time and we’ve never once run into each other. You’d think that at least one time in 30 years you might bump into someone at Wal-Mart, for crying out loud. Well anyway…

Rusty and I dated briefly when I was in my senior year of high school. He was am EMT with the Sea Island Rescue Squad and I was a volunteer firefighter with the Burton Fire District. What a sweetie-pie he was. For a red-head, he was certainly the most calm and even-tempered man I think I ever dated. Unfortunately for me, at 17 I was looking for exciting and adventurous so the relationship didn’t last long. Looking back, I can see what a foolish girl I was – so much time wasted on men who were never going to amount to anything or hold me in the kind of regard that every person is entitled to.

He was going through paramedic training while we were dating and he was always wanting to practice starting IV’s on me because I have “good veins”. As far as I can remember, I was always too chicken to let him try. Not that I was (or am) particularly afraid of needles or blood, but he was a newbie at that kind of thing and accidents happen…

We went to see Bette Midler in “The Rose” – at least I think that was the title of the move. The title song was called “The Rose” for sure. Rusty and I both liked the song and he surprised me with a beautiful cloisonné necklace with the picture of a rose on it. I kept that necklace for a LONG time – in fact, I may even still have it tucked away in one of my jewelry boxes.

It was so good to hear from a friend from my past – it brought so many memories flooding back and made me feel both old and young again at the same time. Now, what did I do with that necklace…?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

